HomeGENERALWinners of the T20 World Cup from 2007 to 2016

Winners of the T20 World Cup from 2007 to 2016

The introduction of the Twenty20 International format in 2005 marked the beginning of a contemporary uprising in cricket competitions all over the globe. This format quickly became the most interesting and intriguing one that captured the attention of the viewers. In addition to this, it made a difference in the progression of the game despite the fact that the duration of the match was shortened. In the years that followed, in 2007, the International Cricket Council (ICC) hosted the first-ever world cup t20 2022 20-over format of cricket.

1. T20 WC 2007: India

After the Twenty20 International format was established, this tournament was the first World Cup ever to be played in that format. At that time, the players and teams were still getting used to the new format and learning how to accept it. Many fresh names were included on the Indian squad for this tournament, and the leadership was handed over to the youthful wicketkeeper MS Dhoni. India had a strong showing in the preliminary group rounds, which allowed them to advance to the semi-finals, where they were victorious against Australia.

2. T20 WC 2009: Pakistan

In the first iteration of the competition, Pakistan was narrowly defeated and did not take home the trophy; however, in 2009, they triumphed over their competitors and took home the championship. They won the first semi-final against South Africa by a score of seven runs, but Sri Lanka prevailed over West Indies and won the second semi-final. The final match was between Sri Lanka and India, and the latter’s captain, Kumar Sangakkara, won the toss and elected to bat first. It is possible that the team will only score 138 runs in 20 overs, with the skipper, Sangakkara, contributing 64 runs off of 52 balls. Shahid Afridi produced an outstanding knock of 54 runs during the chase, which assisted Pakistan in winning the trophy with eight balls left to play.

3. T20 WC 2010: England

The men’s group from England won their very first International Cricket Council (ICC) title in the Twenty20 World Cup in 2010. England defeated Sri Lanka in the first of the two semi-finals with a score of seven wickets with 24 balls left to play. They faced Australia in the championship match, who had previously defeated the defending champions Pakistan by a score of three wickets in the second semi-final.

After being given the opportunity to bat first, Australia managed to rack up 147 runs before being bowled out. David Hussey and Cameron White contributed a couple late blows to this total. Despite the fact that England lost their first wicket early on in their pursuit of the target, Craig Kieswetter produced an outstanding knock of 63 runs to ensure victory for his team. To claim victory in the championship, England defeated India by a score of 7 wickets to 17 runs.

4. T20 WC 2012: West Indies

After a lengthy absence, the West Indies cricket team was able to reclaim some of its former glory in the world cup t20 2022. Sri Lanka recorded a win against Pakistan in the inaugural semi-final of this competition, achieving a victory by a margin of 16 runs. During the second of the two semi-final matches, West Indies triumphed against Australia by a significant margin of 74 runs.


West Indies were in deep difficulty when batting first in the championship game, but Marlon Samuels held one end to force them to a decent score of 137/6. He hammered 78 runs off of 56 balls by hitting three fours and six sixes while doing so. The Sri Lankan squad was unable to put up a fight in the championship match, as they were bowled out with just 101 runs scored, resulting in a loss by 36 runs.

5. T20 WC 2014: Sri Lanka

After coming up short in the championship match of several ICC competitions, the Sri Lankan squad finally tasted the sweet taste of success in the WC t20 2022. In the final, they were going up against India, who had previously advanced by winning the semi-final against South Africa. On the other hand, Sri Lanka defeated West Indies by a margin of 27 runs to go to the championship round.

While batting first, India finished their 20 overs with a score of 130/4, which is below par. Virat Kohli led the squad in scoring with 77 runs off of 58 balls batted in his direction. Sri Lanka chased the target quite comfortably with Kumar Sangakkara hitting a fifty. They won by a score of six wickets and had 13 balls left in the game.

6. T20 WC 2016: West Indies

After claiming victory in the world cup t20 2022, the West Indies became the first team in history to successfully defend their title. They were able to easily defeat India in the second semi-final, whilst England only managed to defeat New Zealand by seven wickets in the first semi-final. Joe Root’s tremendous knock of 54 runs contributed to the overall score of 155 for 9 that the English team was able to achieve in the end. For the foremost part of the chase, England were ahead and required to guard 19 runs within the final over. In any case, Carlos Brathwaite made history by hitting four continuous sixes within the final over to win the trophy for his nation.

Read more: Click

Must Read

error: Alert: Content selection is disabled!!